About the Vincent E. Reed Award

The 2018 Vincent E. Reed Award for Excellence in Teaching recipients are Dr. Dani Moore and Simona Spicianni-Gerhardt. Congratulations!

The Vincent E. Reed Award for Excellence in Teaching was created in 2000 and is awarded each year to an outstanding faculty member at Woodrow Wilson High School. Reed Awards are made from the endowed account established by alumni from the Class of 1970 under the auspices of the Woodrow Wilson High School Parent Teacher Student Association. Vincent E. Reed, after whom the award is named, was Principal at Wilson (1968-69). He went on to become Superintendent of the District of Columbia Public Schools (1975- 80) and Assistant Secretary for Elementary and Secondary Education at the U.S. Department of Education (1981), before finishing his distinguished career as an executive for The Washington Post.